My Top Three Anime in 2011

In my opinion, 2011 was a good year for anime. While there were some flops, disappointments, there were a lot of anime that I particularly liked from this year. When picking the top three anime, I decided them based on their plot, their designs, and their songs. Here are my top 3 anime in 2011:

3. Nichijou – This was a tough choice since there were other shows that I thought could be in the top three, but I just had to put Nichijou in this list. It was just too funny to not put in this list. I loved the trio that was Yukko, Mio, and Mai and I really loved the duo that was Nano and little Hakase. The OPs and EDs were also addicting. The songs and the ridiculousness that is Nichijou put this show at number 3.

2. Puella Magi Madoka☆Magica – Again, I had a tough choice between this, but this time, I had to decide between this and my #1. Admittingly, the first part was a bit boring, but I liked the direction of the plot as the series continued. I really liked the scene design and animation and I also really liked the character design and concepts. The soundtrack was also great. If my #1 anime didn’t show, this would have been my favorite anime this year.

Now, to #1:

1. Ano Hi Mita Hana no Namae wo Bokutachi wa Mada Shiranai (AnoHana) – If there was a show that would make me cry every episode, this one would be it. Originally, I wasn’t actually going to watch this, but the ED was what got me in. Funny how I wasn’t planning to watch this, especially since I wasn’t planning to watch Angel Beats last year, which is now my favorite anime. I really liked the plot of this anime and as I said, I ended up crying every episode. I would even cry whenever I would hear the ED and the ED was also very fitting for the plot. The animation was great and the character designs were not over the top, unlike other anime I typically watch. It was great from beginning to end, making this my number one anime in 2011.

The number of anime has been noticabally dropped, but I hope that 2012 will bring more great, if not better, anime.

Leave a Reply

