An appeal to nearby cosplayers (and/or anime convention goers)

Comments are welcome here, but if you have any negative comments, please don’t leave them here, as they will be deleted.

First, let me go directly to why I’m writing this: I’m looking for people/group to go to anime conventions with. So, let me introduce myself:

I am a 24 year old Rutgers University graduate student that is planning to graduate next year. I went to my first convention in 2008 (NYAF) with several friends. I’ve always wanted to go to a convention before then, but I was and still am very timid. I’ve conventions ever since. Here is a list of conventions I’ve been to:

NYAF: 2008-2011

Mokucon (Rutgers): 2008

AnimeNEXT: 2009-2011

Anime Expo: 2011

I started going alone to conventions in 2009 when I went to NYAF. I was okay with that but as I continued to go to conventions alone, I started wishing that I could go with other people. Even though I have many friends, few of them are interested in anime, and even fewer of them would go to conventions. This is why I’m looking for people to go to conventions with me. As I’ve said, I’m very timid guy, but once I know someone, I can talk to them.

I’m also looking for people to cosplay with. I’ve usually cosplayed alone (I say usually since I’ve started going to cosplay gatherings) since very few of my friends cosplay. Why do I like cosplaying? I cosplay because I really like wearing the things that some anime characters wear. I particularly like to cosplay is Kagamine Len (VOCALOID) and lately, I started cosplaying Ciel Phantomhive (Black Butler/Kuroshitsuji) and I would like to continue cosplaying as those two. I’ve also cosplayed Kotarou Inugami (Negima!), Hibiki Tokai (Vandread), and Genis Sage (Tales of Symphonia).

I know that there are some people that like to create their own costumes, but unfortunately I rarely do that. I know that some people might cringe about what I’m about to say but I buy my costumes. I would like to create my own costumes but due to lack of time and skills, I cannot do that. What I will say is that I respect people that cosplay, but I respect people that create their costumes even more.

So back to the point. I’m not very good at approaching people, but I’m good with people after I know them. This is why I’m trying to do this online. It has proven to be successful during Anime Expo, so I’m trying to do this again. If you are interested, let me know! I don’t mind going to small local conventions with other people (maybe up to 50 miles from Central NJ like MangaNEXT), but more interested in going to AnimeNEXT, Anime Expo, and NYAF.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Konstantina
    Jan 04, 2012 @ 07:35:54

    I would love to go to anime expo! But I don’t have any friends that would be down to go to something like that with me, at all. So I can definitely relate. Furthermore, I’ve never cosplayed, but its so interesting!🙂 It seems like it would be so much fun.. I wish there was some type of place I knew of online where you could meet people, and then plan to meet up with them at events..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

