New York Anime Festival/New York Comic Con

The first convention I ever went to was the NY Anime Festival. This was back in the day where I was hesitant to go to a convention without anyone. I went with three people for a day and I had a lot of fun. Well, the last three days were my third time in NYAF. It was also the first time I ever went the whole three days (and the first time I went to NY Comic Con, since it was combined this year).

My first day started in a train station near my house, dressed up as Negima’s Inugami Kotarou. I boarded the train and after several stops, a professor from a nearby university that was heading to the city, was asking me why I was dressed up. We ended up talking for like 45 minutes until we actually went to NY. On the way, I didn’t really notice any other cosplayers, but I did notice some people that were also going to NYAF/NYCC. When I arrived there, we waited in the holding hall before the doors opened, so I was there for like two hours, taking random pictures. By the time the doors opened, the hall was about half filled, and it was a Friday. I was walking around the dealers room when I noticed a Kanade-chan bag. I found out that bag was part of a set that came with assorted Kanade-chan stuff, so I had to buy it. Glad I passed by there right away, becuase after a few hours, they sold out of those sets (much to the envy of some people I spoke to). While walking, I noticed a big croud in one of the booths. I was wondering why there would be such a big crowd and I found out that Stan Lee was in that booth. I somehow managed to take a picture of him.

After about an hour, I went to the E wing in the first floor to hear the soothing sounds of the Shamisen. Some traditional Japanese songs were played, but also, there was some American songs played. I walked around some more after that and listened to some K-On songs. I’m a bit afraid of what will happen to these songs when K-On is dubbed. Thinking of that sends shivers through my spine. Then went to a Chihara Minori panel (for those who don’t know, she is the voice of Nagato Yuki-chan) for an hour, walked around again, and then went to a Vocaloid panel. Oh yea, before that, I went to the artist gallery and bought art of Black Rock Shooter, Hatsune Miku, Kagamine Rin and Kagamine Len. I think I spend more on that first day than in any other convention day. Listening in that Vocaloid panel gave me ideas. They were talking about how engineers/engineering students were inspired by Vocaloid (or music videos created with songs created in Vocaloid). Maybe I should try figuring out how to write a masters thesis and combining it with some Vocaloid stuff. I mean, Vocaloid actually does get into my field of study. How to incovportate it to something new I don’t know yet. Then I went to a showing of the Disappearance of Suzumiya Haruhi. I mean, I watched it before, but it was much better watching it on screen. I’ve wrote this before, but I like Yuki-chan much better because of that movie. I really, really like those type of girls: extremely cute and extremely shy. After that, I went back to New Jersey for the night.

The next day was an even bigger day. I’ve cosplayed as Kotarou-kun before (and I will continue to), but this was the first time I’ve cosplayed as Tales of Symphonia’s Genis Sage. And this was a more easily recognized character than Kotarou-kun. I spent a little bit of my time in the dealers room, where I bought a Kagami figure (cosplaying as Miku) and a small Ricchan figure. Then, I went to watch a showing of a Hatsune Miku concert that occured in Japan. Yea, I know it’s weird listening to synthesised singing, but hey, I like it. The room was packed and it was standing room only. Like the Vocaloid panel yesterday, there were several Miku cosplayers. My favorite song would probably be Kagamine Len’s Migikata no Chouchou and I was happy when I heard it. I walked some more in the first floor and guess who I saw? A person that cosplayed as Chrome Dokuro!!!!!!!!!! The only thing that would have made things more perfect is if I had a girlfriend that cosplayed as Chrome-nyan. Then, I could die happy. I walked around even more, going to the Maid Cafe and watch dance offs and other stuff and then, I headed to the IGN Theater and watched the Chihara Minori concert. It was nice to hear, but it was also funny when she tried to speak English (I already noticed that the day before). I wish I stayed for the masquerade, but I was tired, so I went back to NJ for the night.

On Sunday, I ended up going with my sister. I had to pay for some of the ticket, but I’m glad that I was able to get ONE person to go to with me. It broke my 2-convention/6-day streak of going alone. Let me tell you, going along is not that great. Sure you’re free to do whatever, but after several days (two to be exact), it does get tiring. It’s also a problem when you’re cosplaying and you don’t have someone cosplaying with you (especially if they are grouped with a certain group of people and if their series is popular [I had maybe one picture taken of me as Kotarou in three conventions and in this convention, I probably got at least five pictures taken of me as Genis during the two days I was Genis]). In my case, no one cosplayed as Raine Sage (sister of Genis). I’ve had people take pictures of me, but two of those people were wondering why Raine wasn’t with me. I had to circumvent the question, saying that if they see a Raine, they should let her know about me (but know that I think about it, that Raine would probably be with a Genis already).

Back to Sunday, that was a short day for me. I was Genis-kun again, walking around the dealers room with my sister, getting more pics, buying more eared hats and ears, and even buying devil wings (Yui-nyan!!!). Then, we went downstairs for several hours, just observing the events going on, watching a weird Pokemon battle, where Team Rocket (the same Team Rocket in the Artist Gallery that wanted a picture of me the on Saturday) sneaked in and tried to steal the pokemon. I also to dance and sing for a bit and I got even more pictures of Chrome-nyan!!! Then, we left. It was sad leaving, but it was funny that I was wearing devil wings in front of a person talking about the end of the world (in the street), another person preaching, and a Catholic church (on a Sunday!). I didn’t do it on purpose, but it was still funny.

So, it’s over. Just like every other convention I’ve been to, I wish it wasn’t over. It’s always nice seeing people cosplay. But it would be nice if I could cosplay with other people.

 

Pictures: Friday, Saturday, Sunday

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Crissy Pink Haired Rocket
    Oct 13, 2010 @ 19:45:58

    Team Rocket is the best!!!!!! >:]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

