Miyazaki Hayao: Great Animator, Anti-New

Anyone that has watched any type of anime at any time should know the name Miyazaki Hayao. He is one of the greatest animators of all time. He co-founded the famous Japanese animation studio Studio Ghibli and has made a ton of animated films like My Neighbor Totoro, Kiki’s Delivery Service, Princess Mononoke, Spirited Away (won an Oscar in 2002), Howl’s Moving Castle, and most recently, Ponyo. In a time where computers are replacing traditional animation techniques, most of the stuff Miyazaki does is hand-drawn. His films are not just great because of the animation, but also because of their plots. I really like his films and I’m pretty sure anyone else that has watched a Miyazaki film also likes them. However, there are some things I don’t agree with him with. One of those things I knew some time ago and one of them I just learned about (which is why I’m writing this right now).

I remember reading maybe one of two years ago that the way that new anime is going, particularly the way anime girls look now. He doesn’t like how anime girls are being depicted in a way that people just want them as pets. That actually offends me a bit. Why would I ever want that? I just like anime girls because they are cute. And the fact that I’ve never had a girlfriend adds to that want for anime girls.

The other thing I learned about him is that he is generally anti-technology (and anti-consumerist). In an interview he has done lately (you can look at an article about the interview here), he mentioned that he doesn’t like the iPad. Well, I don’t really like the iPad either, but he took it a step further saying that the gestures they use on the iPad are similar to masturbation. So yea, he hates the iPad, but that’s not all. He also hated how people used cell phone in trains. He also said before that he doesn’t really own much technological things like a computer. He said that he wants people to become creators instead of just consumers. Okay, I agree a little on that, but to just basically shun anything related to the consumer world and getting angry at people that do have that stuff is something I don’t agree with. People should be able to do what they want, as long as it doesn’t affect anyone else.

Leave a Reply

