My history with anime

I actually gave a speech on this back when I was in Japanese Conversation (of course in Japanese), but I’ll go over my history with anime here and why I like anime.

Throughout elementary school, I basically watched Nickelodeon. I watch all those classic cartoons like Rugrats, Hey Arnold, and Rocko’s Modern Life. My first experience with Japanese anime (at least that I remember of) was when I went to the Philippines during the summer of 1998. Whenever I could, I watched Speed Racer and Akazukin Chacha. Then when I went back to the US, Pokemon started showing in the US, so I started watching Pokemon. The next year, I started watching Digimon when it started showing in the US. Those were the only two anime I watched until eighth grade, when I heard about Dragonball Z. I started watching that and I got hooked into that also. In the second year of high school, I started going to the anime club (because I was too shy to go first year). I watched various anime like Fruits Basket, Gundam Wing, and Evangelion. At home, I would watch Inuyasha, Cowboy Bebop, FLCL, Rurouni Kenshin, Fullmetal Alchemist, and other various anime since it was on Cartoon Network. When I got to college, it got harder for me to listen to dubs, so I started watching anime with subs. I also started watching different types of anime after that switch. Some of the anime I started watching were Lucky Star, Negima, Haruhi, and many other anime. I could go on and on, but I’ll stop there. If I had to pick the three best anime I’ve seen, it would have to be Cowboy Bebop, Fullmetal Alchemist, and Angel Beats!. If I were to pick the two best manga I’ve read, it would be Negima and Fullmetal Alchemist.

Now, why do I like anime so much? There is a lot of reasons I can write, but I have three main reasons why I like anime:

3. Plot: I just like the plots of many of the anime. Even if they don’t really have a real plot, I’ll still probably like it.

2. Coolness/cuteness: There are so many cool things I see in anime that I wish was in the real world. There are also so many cute things, cute girls, cool/cute costumes, etc, etc, etc.

Sure the those first  two reasons could be enough for me, but the number one reason would be the effect anime has on me. Life is very stressful and very disappointing sometimes, especially in my case. Anime allows me to forget those troubles and allows me to get excited about what I’m about to see, even if it’s just for 20-25 minutes. It also gives me some hope that things that happen in the anime I watch can happen to me. I know that I’m getting older, but trust me, anime will never get old for me. Sometimes, I wish this world would turn into the anime world that I watch every day.

Leave a Reply

